Canceling cable TV soon

This is a little bit of something I learned a while ago.  Once upon a time, I dropped out of college and got a job.  It would be easy for me to blame it on video games, but the reality is I didn’t want to be in school very much, so I played video games instead.  When I got home, I got a job working 40 hours a week at something like $8 an hour stocking shelves.  It was really refreshing to live back in my parents basement and chill out for a while.  I did all kinds of things just because I wanted to.  I read A Clockwork Orange during my lunch breaks.  I played video games until I was tired of them.  I spent lots of time thinking about my future.  And it didn’t take me long to figure out that the economics of working without a degree were not going to be very helpful in the long run.  So towards the end of my first semester out of school, I told my parents I was going back.

Now, when I was a freshman they had helped me pay for things so I would not get a job.  However, they told me they wanted me to take an entire year off and that I wasn’t getting any support if I went back early.  I didn’t care, and in retrospect, it was a great decision.  Not only did I not have any money for anything, I didn’t have anything to take with me.  I moved into the dorms over the semester break and managed to get a room all to myself.  I left my computer at home, along with my TV.  And that semester, I learned one of the most valuable lessons of my life.  I can get tremendous amounts of things done when I remove a few of the habitual distractions from my life.  The next semester, I bought a new computer and got a TV, and while my grades dropped, I made do.  I still needed some help and support along the way, but I had made it through a major transition in my way of thinking.

As I spend time thinking about the next 6 months of my life, I have come to the conclusion that I am in another transitional period.  So many things need to be different for me to find success in starting mashtun that I need to eliminate as many distractions as possible.  I quit playing video games on the computer last year, but I still periodically play FIFA on my PS3.  All of those games are going away, along with cable TV.  I know that if I dedicate myself and live simply, I will be surprised at my accomplishments six months from now.

About wfjackson3
I am an EE working out of industry. My nights I am writing ruby (on rails). Interested in entrepreneurship, technology, economics, integrated circuits, public policy, water treatment.

Comments are closed.

